The incumbent Member of Parliament for the Adentan constituency, Yaw Buaben Asamoa has lost his re-election bid.

Buaben Asamoah who is also the Communications Director of the NPP polled 49,255 of the total valid votes cast while NDC’s Mohammed Ramadan won the constituency by polling 66, 436 votes.

Buaben Asamoa, a private legal practitioner thus becomes a one term MP.


The former General Secretary of National Association of Local Authorities in Ghana Mrs Agnes Naa Momo Lartey has emerged victorious in the 2020 parliamentary elections at Krowor Constituency.

The National Democratic Congress’ candidate polled 41,850 to defeat her old foe Mrs Elizabeth Afoley Quaye who garnered 32,204.

The Deputy Chief of Staff, Samuel Abu Jinapor has defeated the incumbent Member of Parliament for Damongo in the Savannah Region, Adam Mutawakilu to claim that seat.

Jinapor secured 15,671 votes as against Mutawakilu’s 13,330 votes. In the Ablekuma North constituency NPP’s candidate Sheila Bartels emerged victorious in the polls.

She secured 54,556 out of the 85,471 total votes cast at the end of the electoral proceedings.

Bartels wrestled the seat from the National Democratic Congress’ Winifred Ashley Mensah who obtained 29,702 votes.

Member of Parliament for Assin Central in the Central Region, Kennedy Agyapong has once again comfortably retained the Assin Central seat for the governing New Patriotic Party.

Mr. Agyapong polled 19,754 votes. His main contender on the ticket of the opposition National Democratic Congress garnered 14,747 votes.

Meanwhile, the Tourism, Art and Culture Minister, Barbara Oteng Gyasi has lost the Prestea Huni-Valley seat after just one-term to the National Democratic Congress’ Robert Wisdom Cudjoe.

Cudjoe won the seat with 56,464 votes while the Tourism Minister polled 34,067 votes.

Member of Parliament for the Atebubu-Amantin constituency in the Bono East Region, Kofi Amoakohene was defeated by the National Democratic Congress’ candidate, Sanja Nanja.

NDC Parliamentary Candidate for the Kumbungu Constituency in the Northern Region, Dr. Hamza Adam has won the 2020 parliamentary contest in the constituency

Dr. Hamza, a lecturer at the University for Development Studies (UDS) polled 24, 278 to beat MCE for the area, Abdul Salam Hamza Fatawu.

The New Patriotic Party’s Parliamentary Candidate, George Andah, has lost the Awutu Senya West Parliamentary seat to Gizella Tetteh-Agbotui of the National Democratic Congress.

Andah was the incumbent after snatching the seat from Hannah Tetteh in 2016. Gizella Tetteh polled 32,708 while Andah polled 29,832.



Send your stories for publication to [email protected] and via WhatsApp on +233 242677304





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here